
the earthman's burden

BACKGROUND

It is the not-too-distant future – next Sunday, AD – and Earth has been on the brink of war for decades. The Secretary-
General uses the military and economic clout of the UN to enforce a fragile peace as best he can. This delicate balance 
is shattered by the invention of a functional, efficient and powerful Bussard ramjet engine capable of 1g throughout 
the Solar System. Within a few short years, and with the Outer Space Treaty quickly forgotten, the superpowers of 
Earth expand outward to claim, colonise, exploit and perhaps even invade the other worlds of the system. 

It will take a clever commander to strike just the right balance. Rush to build an unstoppable armada? Husband your 
resources? Research ever-more-advanced technologies? Leap upon the hotly-contested inner system or play the long 
game in the outer worlds? When do you turn on that most treasured prize – Earth itself? 

TERMINOLOGY

• All rolls are made on d6; a bonus of +n to the roll adds n to the amount shown on each die, making it easier to 
achieve higher targets; a penalty of –n subtracts n similarly, making higher targets harder. All applicable boni 
and penalties are cumulative.

• The board consists of worlds and trajectories, among which each player has units, as do the UN.
• Worlds each have an orbit and between two and seven regions.
• Orbits and trajectories are connected by arrows. Moves skyward are made against arrows, towards the 

centre of the Solar Disc; moves worldward are made with arrows towards the rim of the Disc. In each case, 
one move involves travelling one ring to an orbit or trajectory directly connected, with no intervening 
trajectories, to the orbit or trajectory whence the move started.

• Units occupying a region are developments are said to be on that world and claiming that region.
• Units occupying an orbit are fleets and are said to be on that world; units occupying a trajectory are also 

fleets but are spaceborne.
• The technology board consists of three tracks – the Research Track, the AI Track and the Eschaton Track – 

and the technology grid, on which tokens show each player's access to various technologies.

SETUP

Start with a randomly-determined player; setup rounds proceed anticlockwise.

• In the first round of setup, each player may either claim a region on Earth with a development or place three 
fleets on Earth or place three fleets in any one trajectory any number of moves skyward of Earth or claim a 
technology with no prerequisites.

• In the subsequent three rounds of setup, players may not place developments but may take any of the other 
setup actions.

When all four setup rounds have been taken by all players, fill any unclaimed regions on Earth with UN developments 
and place 12 UN fleets on Earth.

Each player places a counter on node 0 of the AI Track, on node 5 of the Research Track and on node 5 of the Eschaton 
Track.

The last player to take a Setup round takes the first turn; turns then proceed clockwise.



THE TURN

<< phase 1: movement >>

A fleet which starts the phase on a world may move any number of rings skyward.
A fleet which does not start the phase on a world must move exactly one ring worldward.
 
<< phase 2: military actions >>

You may, as many times as you like, form a group of fleets on a world. This group must contain only fleets on the same 
world and none of which have taken an action with any other group this turn. Each group of fleets may attempt one 
action from the following list: Attack, Exploration. See the Actions section for details.

<< phase 3: civilian actions >>

You may, as many times as you like, form a group of developments on a world. This group must contain only 
developments on the same world and none of which have taken an action with any other group this turn. Furthermore, 
each fleet which did not take an action in the Military phase may as its action assist one group of developments on the 
same world. Each group of developments may attempt one action from the following list: Overthrow, Espionage, 
Construction, Research. See the Actions section for details.

<< extraordinary actions >>

You may, as many times as you like and at any time (including in another player’s turn, but not, unless stated 
otherwise, between an action being declared and resolved) perform any of the following actions.

• If you have a counter on the Research node of the Research Track, you may return it to node 5 and gain access 
to any one technology of your choice for which you have the prerequisites.

• In response to any roll (therefore, this action may interrupt an action, as an exception to the above 
restriction), you may as many times as you like move your counter down the AI track and, for each node 
moved, re-roll or force the re-roll of one die of your choice from that roll. This re-roll may itself be affected by 
your AI or that of other players.

• Remove any of your developments and replace each thus removed with a fleet on the same world.
• Remove any of your units from anywhere on the main board.
• Remove your access to a technology, so long as this does not leave any of your technologies without 

prerequisites.
• Move your counters on the Research or Eschaton Tracks to node 5, or your counter on the AI Track to node 0.
• Transfer ownership to any other faction of any fleet or development which has not taken an action or assisted 

with an action since the start of your most recent or current turn.
• Give any player access to any technology to which you have access, so long as they have the prerequisites.

THE UNITED NATIONS

The United Nations may assist you to maintain peace and stability on Earth:
• Any UN units on Earth are counted as yours for outnumbering purposes, for defensive purposes and for 

returning fire in the event that another player takes an Attack or Overthrow action against you on Earth.
• If both you and the UN still have development(s) on Earth, you may use all your Earthly development(s) in one 

group (no matter how many you have) to construct one fleet without needing to make a Construction roll. 
This counts as the action that turn for all your Earthly development(s).

The United Nations acts to maintain its own interests:
• If the UN still have development(s) on Earth, they will at the end of your turn automatically place 

development(s) in any unclaimed regions on Earth and, should they have at that time fewer than 12 fleets, 
construct one new fleet there. The UN is assumed to have vast resource reserves, run most of the world 
banks and so forth, and hence has no need to roll.



ACTIONS

Note that, in addition to the modifiers listed here, many technologies will modify your action rolls.

Attack
• Nominate a target faction with units (of any sort) on the same world
• Rolls: Once per fleet taking the action.
• Modifiers: –1 penalty if your target's units (of any sort) on that world outnumber yours.
• Outcome: Each roll of 4+ (after modification) destroys one of the target's units on that world (his choice 

which). A roll of 6 before modification always destroys an enemy unit; a roll of 1 before modification never 
does.

• Response: Any surviving fleets remaining to the target on that world after the action has been resolved may 
open fire on you as if they were attacking in their turn, at a –1 penalty (you may not respond to this 
response).

Exploration
• Rolls: Once per fleet taking the action.
• Outcome: You may sequentially expend rolls showing no greater than the number of unclaimed regions on 

the world to remove one of the fleets taking the action and replace it with a new development in an as-yet-
unclaimed region on the world, though you may never use a roll of 6 for this purpose. Therefore, if you 
explore a world with four unclaimed regions, you could expend a roll of four or less to claim a region (by 
removing a fleet and placing a development in one of the regions), but must then find a roll of 3 or less from 
the remaining dice in the action (as there would then only be three unclaimed regions), and so on.

Overthrow
• Nominate a target faction with developments on the same world
• Rolls: Once per development taking the action and once per two fleets (rounding down) assisting.
• Modifiers: –1 penalty if your target's units (of any sort) on that world outnumber yours.
• Outcome: Every two rolls of 4+ (after modification) allow you to remove one of the target's developments 

on that world and replace it with a new development of your own (though see the Response section). A roll of 
6 before modification always counts towards the total; a roll of 1 before modification never does.

• Response: The target may roll once for each unit (of any sort) he has on that world. Each roll of 6 cancels out 
one of your rolls of 4+ (whether or not it were a 6).

Espionage
• Nominate a target faction with developments on the same world 
• Rolls: Once per development taking the action and once per two fleets (rounding down) assisting.
• Outcome: Every two rolls of 5+ (after modification) allow you either to gain access to one technology of 

your choice to which the target has access and for which you have the prerequisites or to remove the target's 
access to one technology of your choice which is not a prerequisite for any other technology to which the 
target presently has access or to move the target's counter one space back down the Eschaton track. A roll of 
6 before modification always counts towards the total; a roll of 1 before modification never does.

• Response: The target may roll once for each development he has on that world. Each roll of 6 cancels out one 
of your rolls of 5+ (whether or not it were a 6).

Construction
• Rolls: Once per development taking the action.
• Outcome: If your highest roll is 4+, you may place a new fleet on that world. If your highest roll is 3, you fail 

to produce a fleet but do not overstretch your resource. If your highest roll is 2 or less, you must lose a 
development from among those taking the action; you have over-exploited your manpower, resources and 
perhaps even your native allies.

Research
• Rolls: Once per development taking the action.
• Outcome: Collect the roll results; you may sequentially expend rolls showing no greater than your current 

node on the Research track to move your counter up one position on the track. Therefore, if your counter 
was on node 3 of the Research track, you could expend a roll of 3 or less to move up to node 2, but must then 
find a roll of 2 or less from the remaining dice in the action (as your counter would then be on node 2) to 
progress further, and so on.



TECHNOLOGIES

Access to a technology is indicated by placing a counter in the appropriate slot on the technology grid.

Heavy Weapons: Take a +1 bonus to all your Attack rolls, including those in response to being fired upon.
Superconductors: When taking an Attack action, each roll of 6 before modification allows you to take an extra roll, 
just as if you had another fleet participating in the combat.
Overcharge: Each fleet taking an Attack action may (but need not) roll two dice instead of one, just as if it were two 
fleets (though it does not count as two fleets for the purposes of outnumbering; other modifiers apply as normal). 
However, those same fleets must then, before any response action, resolve another round of fire (to which 
Overcharge does not apply) against themselves and only themselves, using all the normal Attack and Defence 
modifiers (note that you cannot outnumber yourself).
Shielding: Other factions take a –1 penalty on all their Attack rolls against you, including those in response to your 
firing upon them.
Defensive Grid: Your developments each count as two fleets (in addition to counting as developments) each for the 
purposes both of outnumbering and of returning fire.
Intrigue: Take a +1 bonus to all your Overthrow and Espionage rolls.
Security: Other factions take a –1 penalty on all their Overthrow and Espionage rolls against you.
Counter-Intelligence: When responding to Overthrow and Espionage actions, you may roll two extra dice per 
development (though fleets may not roll more dice).
Orion Engines: Before your Movement Phase, you may as many times as you like sacrifice one unit (of any sort) on any 
world to move one group of up to five fleets on that world as many moves skyward as you like as if it were an extra 
movement phase. All fleets in any one such group must move together.
Solar Sails: After your Movement Phase, you may roll three dice. For each roll of 4+, you may move one group of up to 
five fleets in any trajectory one move worldward as if it were an extra movement phase. All fleets in any one such 
group must move together, and no fleet may move twice in the same turn due to Solar Sails.
Exploration Drones: Once per turn, you may when taking an Exploration action choose to roll one extra die (as if one 
extra fleet were also taking the action).
Nanotechnology: Once per turn, you may when taking a Construction action choose to roll one extra die (as if one 
extra development were taking the action).
Abstraction Circuits // Forecasting Circuits: These are two separate technologies. If you have both, you may place 
your AI counter on node 1 of the AI Track at the start of each of your turns.

> Advanced Weapons (Prerequisites: Heavy Weapons): Take a further +1 bonus to all your Attack rolls, including 
those in response to being fired upon.
> Advanced Shielding (Prerequisites: Shielding): Other factions take a further –1 penalty on all their Attack rolls 
against you, including those in response to your firing upon them.
> Advanced Intrigue (Prerequisites: Intrigue): Take a further +1 bonus to all your Overthrow and Espionage rolls.
> Advanced Security (Prerequisites: Security): Other factions take a further –1 penalty on all their Overthrow and 
Espionage rolls against you.
> Fusion Engines (Prerequisites: Orion Engines): Before your Movement Phase but after you use Orion Engines, you 
may as many times as you like sacrifice one fleet in any trajectory to move one group of up to five fleets in that 
trajectory one move worldward as if it were an extra movement phase. All fleets in any one such group must move 
together, and no fleet may move twice in the same turn due to Fusion Engines (though they may move due both to 
Orion Engines and Fusion Engines in the same turn).
> Refraction Fields (Prerequisites: Solar Sails): Roll five dice instead of three when rolling for Solar Sails. 
Furthermore, any roll of 6 in your Solar Sail roll allows you to move one group two moves worldward rather than one.
> Von Neumann Engines (Prerequisites: Exploration Drones): When taking an Exploration action, each roll of 6 allows 
you, as well as replacing a fleet with a development, to construct a second development at no additional cost (should 
there be sufficient unclaimed regions to do so).
> Nanofactories (Prerequisites: Nanotechnology): When taking a Construction action, any roll of 6 allows you to 
construct two fleets instead of one from that action.
> Artificial Intelligence (Prerequisites: Abstraction Circuits) // Recursion Circuits (Prerequisites: Forecasting 
Circuits): These are two separate technologies. If you have both, you may you may place your AI counter on node 3 of 
the AI Track at the start of each of your turns.

>> Advanced Von Neumann Engines (Prerequisites: Von Neumann Engines, Nanofactories): You may in the Civilian 
phase use any fleet(s) which did not take an action in the Military phase to initiate or take part in Construction or 
Research actions as if they were in every way development(s).
>> The Eschaton (Prerequisites: Artificial Intelligence, Recursion Circuits) // Paradox Circuits (Prerequisites: 
Artificial Intelligence, Recursion Circuits): These are two separate technologies. If you have both, you may expend an 
AI counter to immanentise the Eschaton; do this by rolling once. On a 4+, you may move your counter on the Eschaton 
track one space towards the Singularity. Should your counter at any point reach the Singularity node, see the Victory 
section. Should you lose either of these technologies, your counter remains where it is on the Eschaton track.



VICTORY

A player shall be declared victorious if he fulfils one or more of the following conditions.

Conquest: If all other player(s) with units remaining on the board agree that a player has won, then he has won. Note 
that this may be achieved simply by eliminating the units of all other player(s) from the board.

Supremacy: If a player holds all seven regions on Earth at the start of any three consecutive turns of his, then he has 
won. If you hold the whole Earth, you can maintain a blockade; technology has not yet advanced to the stage where it 
is possible for a balanced ecosystem to survive with absolutely no assistance from the homeworld.

The Singularity: If a player's counter on the Eschaton track reaches the Singularity node, then he has won. The 
exponential growth of the power of his AIs leaves all his competitors far behind in a matter of days, and life will never 
be the same again.

OPTIONAL RULES

Any of the following optional rules may be applied by mutual consent before the game starts.

Advanced Hydroponics: The Supremacy victory condition does not apply.

No True AI: The Singularity victory condition does not apply.

Basic Game: Technologies may not be used. Do not deploy the technologies board. The actions Research and 
Espionage are not accessible, players may not choose to claim a technology as a setup action and the Singularity 
victory condition does not apply.

Minigame: This is only applicable if playing with four or fewer players. No fleet may be placed in or move to the 
central node of the Solar Disc, and hence no fleet may move to the outermost planetary systems (Jupiter and Saturn).

Assassination: Each player places a Commander in Earth's orbit before setup commences. A Commander may move 
like a fleet; a Commander acts in the Military phase and in the Civilian phase just as if it were two fleets acting in 
whichever group to which the Commander is assigned (it rolls twice instead of once for each fleet action it takes, 
contributes one whole roll to any development it assists, counts as two units for the purposes of outnumbering and so 
forth). You may only choose to assign damage to your Commander should there be no other units to which you could 
assign the damage; it still takes only one hit to destroy the Commander, as if it were only one fleet. Should your 
Commander be removed for any reason, you are out of the game and have lost. All your fleets are immediately 
removed from the board; your developments and technologies remain as neutral pieces which can be acted against 
but which never act (not even in response to Overthrow or Espionage attempts).

Seven Players: If you can find counters in a seventh colour, you may play with seven players. If there are no UN 
developments on Earth when play begins, place one UN development in an imaginary region in the centre of the Earth 
and have it act as one normal UN development. This imaginary region ceases to exist if for whatever reason the 
development occupying it ceases to exist or ceases to belong to the UN or if for whatever reason the UN gain any 
other developments on Earth.

Resignation: Should a player leave the game for any reason other than destruction, treat his units as if the 
Assassination rules were in effect and his Commander had just been destroyed.

Loyal Subjects: Units may not be transferred to another player.


